Simon Says Stamp! Coffee, Tea, & Cocoa – 10 Cards 1 Kit

Hi, everyone! I was hoping to make a video of this but my video cam takes photos at a slower speed than I need – even when I speed it up. I can’t get anything over 4x speed or it starts jumping and starting/stopping. It isn’t worth it right now…too much to do and not enough time! LOL

Anyway, I love this month’s kit from Simon Says Stamp! I love coffee, I love tea…and who doesn’t love hot cocoa this time of year? (I’m in Maryland and its cold right now!) Anyway… I got off to a slow start with this kit at first…the creative juices just weren’t flowing, but once I got going..! LOL!

For my first card, I used a top folding card in #120 white from the kit. The background paper is the little tiny XOXO print with colorful hearts scattered around from the Doodlebug paper pad. I printed a tea-cup and three tea bags using Memento Tuxedo Black on white card scraps, then fussy cut them out. The tea cup was colored with Copic Markers RV02  and RV04, while the tea bags were Copic Markers E11 and E37. I stamped a small tag with the sentiment with MementoLuxe in Rich Cocoa (felt it suited this kit perfectly!). A little fuchsia cord and a few of the darker pink enameled dots and its done!

coffee-tea-cocoa-1

The second card I used the Neenah Desert Storm cardstock top fold vertical. A simple white background in Sweet Tooth (MFT) was stamps repeatedly in the Rich Cocoa using the coffee cup and tea-cup stamps. I left them uncolored to keep it a little less busy. A rectangle strip from the same MFT cardstock is stamped with another sentiment from the kit, and backed with a strip of the adorable plaid paper in the kit. A few scattered coffee beans and that’s done!

coffee-tea-cocoa-2

The third card was a little take-off of a card Vicky Papaioannou did on her video…but I don’t drink regular tea so I used an herbal tea bag (which smells divine!). The card was the Surf Blue Cardstock and I used a scalloped border to die cut the plaid paper. A small tag die to cut the tag for the sentiment – this tag die comes with inserts that emboss your tag – I used one to give me a tiny flower that I colored in with pencils to match the plaid paper. A piece of the fuchsia cord for the tag, then a staple to the tea bag, and that was it. I used a few of the enamel dots in light pink and dark pink and one of the glitter hearts to finish this card off.

coffee-tea-cocoa-3

My fourth card had a purpose in mind before I even started it. My youngest daughter, Dani, will be 26 the 1st of March. She’s a coffee addict so I wanted her card to be very, very coffee! LOL Using the Desert Storm Card-stock with a top fold, I stamped coffee beans all around the edges from another stamp set that I had in Rich Cocoa. Using the paper that was covered in coffee beans, I die cut a circle out of the top center and covered it with a piece of acetate. Using a piece of brown cardstock from my stash, I die cut a frame and stamped Happy Birthday in Tuxedo Black at the top and at the bottom. This was then glued over the circle with the acetate…I’m trying to make a shaker card…LOL  I die cut a piece of white cardstock in a circle, stamped it with my sentiment, then glued it to the back of the paper covered with tiny coffee beans, then popped it up with foam tape, added some sequins from my stash in various coffee tones and glued the whole thing down on the card base. The two puffy coffee stickers – one for frappechino and one for carry-out coffee, two sugar bag stickers (from the kit), and more sequins finished off this card. I just had to cover the brown frame with some Wink of Stella clear glitter pen because it just needed something else! Inside I made a gift card pocket from brown card stock, glued some birthday balloons and streamers around it, added a metallic “happy birthday” and its all ready for the Starbucks gift card I got her! She’ll probably roll her eyes at me, but she’ll love it secretly!

coffee-tea-cocoa-4

My fifth card was in the Doll Pink cardstock. I chose the paper that was covered with stacked tea cups (which I thought were jelly beans at first!). I cut it a slight smaller than my card base, die cut a circle in the top center, then popped it up with some foam tape. Two of the puffy tea-cup stickers and two puffy tea bag stickers went in the center that I cut out. I used one of the sentiments from the paper pad pack and backed it with a strip of white cardstock. This was popped up with some more foam tape…a pretty simple card.

coffee-tea-cocoa-5

The sixth card is another copy from Vicky…she had some really great ideas! ….Using the piece of paper from the kit that had the “Life is Sweet” pattern and pictures, I cut out the covers to the two dessert dishes. I fussy cut the donuts and macaroons. I backed the cutout portions with acetate and popped this paper up with foam tape. After determining where the “windows” would fall, I glued the donuts and macaroons behind the “glass” ..added some sequins, and glued the whole thing to a white card base. A few more sequins scattered on the card and it was done…as my little boy says “easy, peasy”!

coffee-tea-cocoa-6

My seventh card used everything from the kit…a white card base top fold, the heart paper from the kit, and the little list tag cut from one of the papers, and another with the tea cups. Two sentiment strips were cut from the paper pad as well. I glued and foam taped them to pop them up and another simple card!

coffee-tea-cocoa-7

The eighth card is using the Doll Pink cardstock. I cut a panel from the donut paper and popped the frame up with foam tape. I stamped the sentiment in the long window (“I only need two things…coffee & coffee & coffee… I just had to add that extra one!). The creamer and sugar stickers for the top window, the coffee pot for the center window, and two steaming coffee mugs for the third window. This kit made things SOOO easy!

coffee-tea-cocoa-8

The ninth card went a little sideways from the start so I had some nitpicking to do. I used a piece of the Sweet Tooth cardstock, edged it with Dark Espresso ink and glued it to a white card base. I die cut a frame from the greenish paper in the pad, and glued that down in the center. From the stamp set I got the coffee bean strip from, I stamped and fussy cut a lot of coffee beans (stamped in the Rich Cocoa on brown card stock from my stash) and then glued them onto the frame like “flowers”. I die cut three coffee cups in patterned paper, three in white, and three using kraft card stock from my stash. I fussy cut the lids from the white, and the heat bands from the kraft, then glued them all together. I popped them up with foam tape in the center of the frame. Using a small scrap of the plaid paper, I die cut a square, which I topped with a smaller square in white. Stamped from the stamp kit that had the coffee beans, I used the Rich Cocoa ink again. Glued these two together, popped up with some foam tape, and then scattered some coffee-colored sequins around. Of course, I just had to add a little Wink of Stella clear pen to the heat bands on the coffee cups!

coffee-tea-cocoa-9

This last card started off as one thing, but ended up as another. I had a lot of scraps left that I wanted to use up, so I cut 1″ squares from as many of them as I could. I then created a patchwork quilt from them. They were glued onto a piece of white cardstock, popped up with foam tape, then glued to the Surf Blue card base. I created a longer tag so I could fit two stamped coffee cups, the sentiment and a few hearts. I topped this off with a piece of the fuchsia cord and glued it all down. I added two light pink, two dark pink, and two glitter hearts to the card base and I was done!

coffee-tea-cocoa-10

I have to say…again… that this card kit was fun. I love the paper pad from Doodlebug and I have to order more of those adorable puffy stickers, also from Doodlebug! I tried to order them after I got the kit, but they were already sold out! I guess I’m not the only one that loved them!

Well, that’s all for now, crafty friends. I hope you have a wonderful day and enjoy crafting. Until next post…

Love, Laura

p.s for those of you interested…  Simon Says Stamp! Monthly Card Kits

2 thoughts on “Simon Says Stamp! Coffee, Tea, & Cocoa – 10 Cards 1 Kit

    1. Gale, these are usually a one-time thing, but the paper pad is absolutely adorable. Only one page like this is included in the pad so it would all depend on how many cards you wanted. I love Doodlebug pads so I know I’ll find a use for 2 or 3 pads, but more….?

      Like

Leave a Reply

